Wanna blog? Start your own hockey blog with My HockeyBuzz. Register for free today!

M&M stars ready for hardware?

September 18, 2020, 3:57 PM ET [1 Comments]
Rick Sadowski
Colorado Avalanche Blogger •Avalanche Insider • RSSArchiveCONTACT
The NHL announced on Friday that it will reveal the winners of the final five regular-season awards on Monday during a 30-minute show that will be broadcast at 6:30 p.m. ET.

The show will air on NBCSN in the U.S., and on Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada.

It will be broadcast from Rogers Place in Edmonton, the site of the Stanley Cup Final between Dallas and Tampa Bay, with co-hosts Kenny Albert and Scott Oake.

The Avalanche’s Nathan MacKinnon and Cale Makar have excellent chances of receiving awards.

MacKinnon, who already has won the Lady Byng Award for sportsmanship while playing at a high level, is a finalist for the Hart Trophy as Most Valuable Player (voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association) and the Ted Lindsay Award as Most Outstanding Player (voted on by members of the NHL Players Association).

Makar is a finalist for the Calder Trophy as the league’s best rookie, voted on by the PHWA.

Wayne Gretzky will reveal the winners of the Hart and Calder trophies, while Mark Messier will announce the winner of the Lindsay award.

“Obviously, I am hopeful,” said MacKinnon, who had 93 points (35 goals, 58 assists) in 69 games. “It’d be really cool to win, but I am not counting on anything. I think a couple years ago, it meant more to me than it does now. Whether you win it or not, your career goes on, your life goes on.”

Edmonton’s Leon Draisaitl and the New York Rangers’ Artemi Panarin are the other finalists for the Hart and Lindsay awards.

Makar finished second to MacKinnon in scoring on the Avalanche with 50 points (12 goals, 38 assists) in 57 games. No stranger to awards, Makar won the Hobey Baker Award as the NCAA Player of the Year in 2018-19 while a sophomore at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Vancouver’s Quinn Hughes and Chicago’s Dominik Kubalik are the other finalists for the Calder Trophy.

Washington’s John Carlson, Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Nashville’s Roman Josi are finalists for the Norris Trophy, which will be presented by Paul Coffey.

Winnipeg’s Connor Hellebuyck, Boston’s Tuukka Rask and Tampa Bay’s Andrei Vasilevskiy are finalists for the Vezina Trophy, which will be presented by Grant Fuhr.

Join the Discussion: » 1 Comments » Post New Comment
More from Rick Sadowski
» From Pepsi Center to Ball Arena
» Jost, Miska re-signed
» One-year contract for Jost
» Three-year contract for Graves; Devon Toews acquired from Isles
» Burroughs acquired for Greer