JoeRussomanno
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: me bitter? F-no i think it's hilarious Joined: 12.14.2011
|
|
|
You already know the answer to that.
 - MBFlyerfan
That thing works wonders |
|
ggunky
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: I like cold beverages, NJ Joined: 04.09.2008
|
|
|
Bob McKenzie @TSNBobMcKenzie
No suppl disc for Kronwall on Voracek. PPOC was head but deemed full body on body hit. Not a hit NHL believes should be out of the game. - BoomGoesTheCoburn
Like i said, it was a clean hit.
|
|
wolfhounds
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: dicky seamus, PA Joined: 06.02.2009
|
|
|
And the instigator rule being in or out of the game won't change the way Kronwall plays imo. I could be wrong on that, but I think he still plays the way he does either way. - rockychocbill
Yeah it will, and I'll prove it to you...
Think Jake's going to be more aware next time he goes to put himself in that position?
Now imagine if after laying that kind of hit Kronwall had his face busted up a little bit... Think he's going to think twice about laying that kind of hit in the future, especially if guys like Shelley, Sestito, Lucic, Rupp, etc. are on the ice? |
|
Lexington Flyer
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: NoHockeyTown , KY Joined: 04.02.2008
|
|
|
MBFlyerfan
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: Be nice from now on, NJ Joined: 03.17.2006
|
|
|
You were right, I was wrong. But were in 100% agreement on the Insitigator issue. - MJL
That rule has been a problem since its inception. Is it a coincidence that concussions and injuries seem more prevalent since it was implemented?
Kronwall can run around leveling players because he knows no one can do anything about it to him. I was wishing the Flyers would be able to get up 4-1 so they could start running Zetterberg without endangering their ability to win the game. But when it got to 3-2 I knew that wasn't going to happen, if it ever was going to happen.
|
|
bradleyc4
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: the jewelry is still out Joined: 01.16.2007
|
|
|
Not intentionally injured, but they should be prepared to be lit up the exact same way. If the officials say its OK for one team, the other team should take notes and take the dampers off on their hitting. If they are going to let the game be played that way, I'd like to see Grossman lay a hit like that on one of the other team's star players. Ouch. Make 'em think twice about trying to wheel on through the neutral zone. - Lexington Flyer
Then I guarantee you that the Flyers end up losing the game.
Now you lose a top-6 winger to a concussion and you're out 2 points in the standings, all for the sake of retribution -- which you might never get, and almost always remorse. |
|
wolfhounds
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: dicky seamus, PA Joined: 06.02.2009
|
|
|
BulliesPhan87
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: the lone wolf of hockeybuzz Joined: 07.31.2009
|
|
|
I'm flabbergasted there is no suspension for Kronwall. I give up. I thought it was a textbook example of a hit the NHL is trying to eliminate. I guess I have no clue what the rule is anymore. Very frustrating. - MJL
What's frustrating with the explanation in the Bob McK. tweet is that the NHL admits the head is the principle point of contact.
"...what no player should expect any longer is that his head will be picked and made the principle point of contact whether intentionally or recklessly."
You said it, Shanny. Oh well, now I'm just indulging in sour grapes, I suppose. |
|
Lexington Flyer
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: NoHockeyTown , KY Joined: 04.02.2008
|
|
|
Clearly that's not the case.
Kronwall destroys Jake = nothing. Rinaldo taps a Detroit player = penalty.
What happens if Rinaldo hits Zetts like Kronwall hit Jake? - wolfhounds
Yeah I know. The reality that Shannahan, and Campbell before him, has created pisses me off. |
|
rockychocbill
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: The Off Season Joined: 07.04.2008
|
|
|
Not intentionally injured, but they should be prepared to be lit up the exact same way. If the officials say its OK for one team, the other team should take notes and take the dampers off on their hitting. If they are going to let the game be played that way, I'd like to see Grossman lay a hit like that on one of the other team's star players. Ouch. Make 'em think twice about trying to wheel on through the neutral zone. - Lexington Flyer
Every player who ever steps onto an NHL ice surface should be expecting to get lit up like that. What was Campbell's hit on Umberger? Clean or dirty? No player should have to "answer" for a hit like last night's. That was a textbook hockey hit and the "hockey" people saw it that way. |
|
BulliesPhan87
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: the lone wolf of hockeybuzz Joined: 07.31.2009
|
|
|
rockychocbill
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: The Off Season Joined: 07.04.2008
|
|
|
Yeah it will, and I'll prove it to you...
Think Jake's going to be more aware next time he goes to put himself in that position?
Now imagine if after laying that kind of hit Kronwall had his face busted up a little bit... Think he's going to think twice about laying that kind of hit in the future, especially if guys like Shelley, Sestito, Lucic, Rupp, etc. are on the ice? - wolfhounds
Who's gonna bust up his face? We've seen these retribution things before. They never work out. The guy turtles or they wrestle and maybe the "attacker" gets one maybe two punches in while the other guy just hangs on until the linesmen come in. Unless you're gonna go Bertuzzi on Moore and just flat out sucker the guy, it's meaningless. Or you could just go Clarke and slash his ankle or something and take the minor. |
|
Flyskippy
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: Ignoreland, GA Joined: 11.04.2005
|
|
|
What's frustrating with the explanation in the Bob McK. tweet is that the NHL admits the head is the principle point of contact.
"...what no player should expect any longer is that his head will be picked and made the principle point of contact whether intentionally or recklessly."
You said it, Shanny. Oh well, now I'm just indulging in sour grapes, I suppose. - BulliesPhan87
Everyone knows what icing is. Everyone knows what offsides are. Heck, even delay of game via pucks over the glass is black and white.
The NHL is continually irritating fans of 29 bases at a time when crap like this, which is clearly against Rule 48, happens and is merely glossed over.
I'm out before I say things I regret like, "I'm done with hockey," etc. |
|
Lexington Flyer
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: NoHockeyTown , KY Joined: 04.02.2008
|
|
|
Darn life getting in the way...  - wolfhounds
They'll pry my beer from my cold dead fingers |
|
wolfhounds
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: dicky seamus, PA Joined: 06.02.2009
|
|
|
Every player who ever steps onto an NHL ice surface should be expecting to get lit up like that. What was Campbell's hit on Umberger? Clean or dirty? No player should have to "answer" for a hit like last night's. That was a textbook hockey hit and the "hockey" people saw it that way. - rockychocbill
Why? The way I see it, fighting is as much a part of hockey as hitting and scoring goals, and a fight after that hit would have been reactionary as opposed to staged...which is perfectly in tune with the spirit of the game...
In my opinion at least. |
|
rockychocbill
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: The Off Season Joined: 07.04.2008
|
|
|
What's frustrating with the explanation in the Bob McK. tweet is that the NHL admits the head is the principle point of contact.
"...what no player should expect any longer is that his head will be picked and made the principle point of contact whether intentionally or recklessly."
You said it, Shanny. Oh well, now I'm just indulging in sour grapes, I suppose. - BulliesPhan87
I didn't see intentional or reckless though. |
|
BulliesPhan87
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: the lone wolf of hockeybuzz Joined: 07.31.2009
|
|
|
I didn't see intentional or reckless though. - rockychocbill
I thought it was reckless, but as I said I guess I'm just sour grapes. Whatever. |
|
OrangeBlack27
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: i do, mike, PA Joined: 06.29.2006
|
|
|
Every player who ever steps onto an NHL ice surface should be expecting to get lit up like that. What was Campbell's hit on Umberger? Clean or dirty? No player should have to "answer" for a hit like last night's. That was a textbook hockey hit and the "hockey" people saw it that way. - rockychocbill
Last night's was clean by the books, but Kronwall has thrown plenty of dirty hits where he's left his feet and has literally NEVER dropped the gloves once. |
|
steelydan
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
Location: Philly, PA Joined: 04.16.2009
|
|
|
Every player who ever steps onto an NHL ice surface should be expecting to get lit up like that. What was Campbell's hit on Umberger? Clean or dirty? No player should have to "answer" for a hit like last night's. That was a textbook hockey hit and the "hockey" people saw it that way. - rockychocbill
Screw that. Just like any player who steps on the ice should be expecting to get lit up; any player who steps on the ice should be expected to answer for a play/hit that the other team doesn't like. This guy lined up Jake and aimed for the head. Simply put, that's all the Flyers need to know. If Sestito/Shelley was on the roster yesterday, they should have every right to go out there on Kronwall's next shift and pull his jersey over his head. Where's the fairness?
We have a hit that *many* people (including non-Flyers fans) consider a dirty hit, yet there was no penalty, no suspension, no retribution, etc. What happened yesterday that will make Kronwall think twice when it comes to aiming for the head? Exactly. Nothing. |
|
2731color
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
Location: PA Joined: 07.17.2007
|
|
|
I'm flabbergasted there is no suspension for Kronwall. I give up. I thought it was a textbook example of a hit the NHL is trying to eliminate. I guess I have no clue what the rule is anymore. Very frustrating. - MJL
Don't be flabbergasted or give up. Your analysis earlier was well reasoned but I thought you were a little too sure of yoursef. Perhaps you should just concede that it was a close call and that Shanahan is more qualified to make the correct call than you based his experience. |
|
Lexington Flyer
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: NoHockeyTown , KY Joined: 04.02.2008
|
|
|
Every player who ever steps onto an NHL ice surface should be expecting to get lit up like that. What was Campbell's hit on Umberger? Clean or dirty? No player should have to "answer" for a hit like last night's. That was a textbook hockey hit and the "hockey" people saw it that way. - rockychocbill
100% Agree, but the league has made "textbook hockey hits" kinda vague these days. They gotta put their foot down one way or the other. intentions aren't always discernable so they have to take a stand. Either contact to the head is a clearcut suspension or it isn't. Right now it seems some guys can do it and some can't, which is not good for the game. |
|
rockychocbill
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: The Off Season Joined: 07.04.2008
|
|
|
Why? The way I see it, fighting is as much a part of hockey as hitting and scoring goals, and a fight after that hit would have been reactionary as opposed to staged...which is perfectly in tune with the spirit of the game...
In my opinion at least.  - wolfhounds
If someone wants to go chase Kronwall and try to get him to drop his gloves then fine. I think it's wrong though because it was a clean hit, but it's not my face or money on the line. Let's have a fight after every hard hit. Oh wait, we're almost at that stage now anyways. Sheesh. |
|
steelydan
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
Location: Philly, PA Joined: 04.16.2009
|
|
|
Last night's was clean by the books, but Kronwall has thrown plenty of dirty hits where he's left his feet and has literally NEVER dropped the gloves once. - OrangeBlack27
How is it clean? Intentions are not married to results. Whether or not he aimed for his shoulder or head; he made contact with the head. That's all you need to know. It was a head shot, which is usually penalized or grounds for suspension. Instead, it was nothing, and Kronwall will have no reason to second-guess that hit in the future. As someone alluded to earlier, once it happens to Crosby or another face of the NHL, we'll see the hammer drop. Shame, really. |
|
OrangeBlack27
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: i do, mike, PA Joined: 06.29.2006
|
|
|
If someone wants to go chase Kronwall and try to get him to drop his gloves then fine. I think it's wrong though because it was a clean hit, but it's not my face or money on the line. Let's have a fight after every hard hit. Oh wait, we're almost at that stage now anyways. Sheesh. - rockychocbill
I typically agree with the no need to answer for a clean hit, but you'd think Kronwall would have answered the bell at least once in his career. But no. |
|
rockychocbill
Philadelphia Flyers |
|
 |
Location: The Off Season Joined: 07.04.2008
|
|
|
Last night's was clean by the books, but Kronwall has thrown plenty of dirty hits where he's left his feet and has literally NEVER dropped the gloves once. - OrangeBlack27
True. Not debating, disagreeing or defending that for one second. |
|